VMware Communities
Tony1984
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Bridged connection doesn't work! Help!

Hello guys.

I have a problem getting my bridged connection work on my virtual machine.

Specs:

Host: Debian Lenny 5 Server

3 IP's already configured within static and working

Installed VMware Server 2. Working great.

vmnet 33580 10

vsock 15620 0

vmci 43620 2 vsock

vmmon 60484 6

Installed virtual machine.

Ubuntu 9.10 Server with a minimum gdm possible.

The guest interface is configured with dhcp.

I have setup the vmw server bridged connection to eth0:1, the 3 ip address of the host. When I try ifconfig on the host I can see vmnet1 and vmnet8 but I cant see vmnet0. Anyway, before I reinstalled vmware, when I used to switch to bridged connection, after a while the host server lost the interfaces configuration, and all the 3 ip addresses were assigned to the virtual OS and this is strange and really stressing.

I'm a newbie on using vmware and I have never configured or managed bridged connection. What should I do in my case? I practically just want my virtual machine to share 1 ip with the host.

And yes I have tried to setup my host interfaces with DHCP, but after a while the configuration goes automatically in static...

On the vmware web interface I see that the guest domain is identified but any IP. Anyway that domain is not real, its just a name I have set. Maybe I must set the host domain on guest too? Anyway even the host doesnt have a domain. On host interfaces I just have address; netmask; gateway for eth0 and just address and netmask for the other 2 remaining IP's... all of them in static.

I'm googleing from a while now but seams I cant resolve it. I would love to read any suggestion. In fact I really need some tips.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AWo
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Nothing have been changed, ifconfig -a shows the exact same thing as I showed you on the previous posts.

Good.