VMware Communities
vmQuint
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Best Linux for Host? ... and ESX vs. Workstation

I've been running VM Workstation since 1999.  I just built a physical machine for my home lab that I want to run only VMs on.  I have two questions.

What is the best linux host for VM Workstation 8?

I went to the compatitibility guide at:

http://partnerweb.vmware.com/comp_guide2/search.php?deviceCategory=software&testConfig=17

and put in:

Workstation

all

all

Linux

desktop

and it comes up with only Mandriva and SUSE.  This is bizarre.  No Red Hat?  No Ubuntu?  No Debian?  Mandriva is a French company financed by the Russians which makes me a little queasy, and SUSE is not free.  it makes me wonder if that page is current.

Which leads to my next question. ... Isn't there some hypervisor product that doesn't even need a host OS?  Is that ESX?  Can I get all the Workstation features (snapshots, etc.) with this hypervisor product? ... and of course, I can't spend $2000 for a home lab.   I seem to recall that one of these products is free, ... was it ESXi?  Can anyone explain the differences between Workstation and ESX in a few sentences.  But if the ESX version I need is $2000, then nevermind.

I guess ideally I'd like to install Workstation as a hypervisor (no host OS).  Is there anyway to acheive this?  What do you suggest?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
continuum
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

ESXi uses a very minimal video-driver - displaying a VM itself is not possible
thats why you need to use a second physical machine to view the VMs

inside the VMs you only get a virtual videocard - so playing latest games inside a VM is not possible

> or that matter, it can't run on an i7? ... again, really?

thats not correct - dont know who told you that ....
ESXi is quite picky when it comes to disk controllers - fake Raids and cheap stuff is not supported - but it will work with normal SATA drives

View solution in original post

0 Kudos