VMware Communities
SamFan
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Accessing VMs From Dualboot Computer with Workstation Pro

Hello,

I have a question that probably has a simple solution, but it has eluded me, as I am just learning about virtualization.

I have a dual boot computer that has ESXI and Windows installed on it. I used Altaro Backup to restore 2 VMS onto the ESXI. Now I need to network them in a sandbox. I was planning on using Workstation Pro for this.

I am trying to open the ESXI VMs in Workstation Pro in the windows install (of course). I can see the drives but no VMs, I'm sure I am missing something simple... I would rather not export and import them as they are already on that computer!

Any help would be appreciated. Please let me know if I missed any information or am unclear.

Thank you,

Sam

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
continuum
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

> I have a dual boot computer that has ESXI and Windows installed on it.

I assume you have
1 disk partitioned by ESXi and

1 disk partitioned by Windows.
There is no tool available that enables your Windows host to read and write VMFS as it would be necessary to work with Workstation VMs.
So your only option that comes to my mind is to do this:
when booted into ESXi:
create a Windows VM and store it as usual in the VMFS-partition.
That new Windows VM then must run a NFS-service.
This NFS-service can use a third NTFS-disk to store ESXi - VMs.
So you would need a host with 3 separate harddisks.

By the way - I had the same idea years ago and thought that such a setup would help learning ESXi handling faster.
Nowadays I no longer see any advantage of the constellation:
duakboot-setup with ESXi and Windows
compared with a
regular Windows setup
with just ESXi-systems inside Workstation VMs.