VMware Communities
michel_desbiens
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Access a physical HD through a VM

Hello all,

I'm new to VMware. I read about my question, but I'm confuse and afraid to loose my data.

Configuration

Host : Suse 10 Enterprise Desktop

Guest: Windows XP

I want to take a NTFS Data Disk from another workstation and make the data accessible to the guest WinXP. In the Windows disk configuration, I'm not seeing the new drive.

When I'm going through the VMware configuration to add a new disk drive, based on the question I have to answer, I'm not sure I'm on the on the right track.

Please help!

Michel

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jimbo45
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I'm running SLED 10 also as HOST.

SAMBA is NOT dangerous --it's been around a long long time, stable and used world wide in literally 100,000's or even millions of installations world wide. It's also reasonably secure (certainly more secure than the average Windows workstation).

The EASY way to do it is

1) Install FUSE 2.6.3 with ntfs-3g on the Host. This will enable NTFS WRITE. This way you can then use SAMBA to control access to the Windows share from your VM and enable it for WRITE (also on your VM).

2) install SAMBA on your SLED 10 machine

3) enable the disk (or directory) as a SAMBA share --plenty of documentation on how to do that.

4) ensure the Windows User on the VM has a SAMBA account on the SLED 10 machine --do this with smbpasswd -a user and enter password when prompted. Change the word user to the samba user you want to set up.

5) ensure the windows drive is mounted on the host

mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/xxx /windows/G (replace xxx with your device and choose any mount point you like --should be the same as you defined in the SAMBA share.

6) ensure the samba service is started (smb / nmb)

7) now in Windows network places you should see your SAMBA share. Mount it as a network drive and you are good to go.