VMware Communities
Guermantes
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

6Gb RAM enough on machine running Win7 x2 ?

Hello,

I am a web designer and I need to be able to test sites in various operating systems and with different configurations. I am thinking of a getting VMWare and use virtual machines to test my sites in.

The system I am buying in a couple of weeks has: a i7 950 3GHz with 6Gb DDR3 triple channel 1600 Hz RAM, with Radeon 5850 1Gb. It is running Windows 7 64 bit.

Is this system capable of "loading and working inside" a virtual machine (Linux Ubuntu, Win 7, and Win XP; one at a time of course)?

Or do I really really really need to get more RAM (which would mean another 6Gb in order to retain triple channel mode).

Thanks a lot!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
piaroa
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Yeah, that looks like a really powerful host for Workstation. You can power on and use more than 1 VM concurrently actually (depending on load, services).

You should be ok to run Linux, Windows and any other supported guest OS'. You "could" see a bottleneck in IO if you have your VMs writing or reading to disk too much, but that's under very heavy load.

Make sure to configure your VMs as low spec'ed as you can, and work your way up (start with 1GB, 1vCPU, etc).

If this post has been helpful/solved your issue, please mark the thread and award points as you see fit. Thanks!

If this post has been helpful/solved your issue, please mark the thread and award points as you see fit. Thanks!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
piaroa
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Yeah, that looks like a really powerful host for Workstation. You can power on and use more than 1 VM concurrently actually (depending on load, services).

You should be ok to run Linux, Windows and any other supported guest OS'. You "could" see a bottleneck in IO if you have your VMs writing or reading to disk too much, but that's under very heavy load.