VMware Communities
donnell8
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

windows nt 4.0

I am a chemistry student at the college of new jersey. I am doing research with a biosystems voyager DE Time of Flight mass spectrometer. Unfortunately the system is running and can only be run on windows nt 4.0. I am an absolute novice with vmware...ive toyed around with the ubuntu system that was recommended in pcworld about a year ago but I don't know what to do with it other than using that one os. I wish to learn how to run windows 4.0 nt as a guest os on one of the computers in the same room as the mass spec. Before anyone asks...due to the questionable abilities of the IT department none of the computers are networked to communicate with the computer hooked up to the mass spec. However my issue lies within operating the data program that comes with the control panel of the mass spec. In order to get crisp clear peaks onto a power point slide it is best to use the data program that ISN'T compatible with XP. Again I have no idea what I am doing. Can anyone tell me where I can find a windows nt 4.0 appliance and how to install it on a comp running xp??? I know I'm asking a lot due to the broadness of my question. As usual, any help would be great. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Shawn

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
skrodahl
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Windows NT 4.0 is a commercial operating system, so you will need a license to run it.

Thus, you will not be able to find any (legal) NT4 appliances for download.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
15 Replies
skrodahl
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Windows NT 4.0 is a commercial operating system, so you will need a license to run it.

Thus, you will not be able to find any (legal) NT4 appliances for download.

0 Kudos
donnell8
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution