VMware Communities
cmlove
Contributor
Contributor

failed due to file system permissions issues.

Hi All I'm very new at this so please be gentle and explain in layman's terms...I have a new HP G60 -630 Windows 7 Home running 64 bit... I have programs that I need to run on 32 bit...

I have purchased partition software, created a 100 gig separate G drive and downloaded VM Software player 3.1 which I learned about on “how to Geek”; http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/11060/create-an-xp-mode-for-windows7-home-versions-and-vista/ I followed the instructions, used my registered XP professional service pack two disk ....And the following notice appears

Unable to create a new virtual machine: Access to "G:\Windows XP Professional.vmx" failed due to file system permissions issues.

It is important that I can run these 32 bit programs and finding a simple solution that can be added to my existing Windows 7 Home premium computer. Please to who have the understanding of this problem send, email call with help!!!!

Thanks to all for helping the new guy

Christopher, cmlove2003@yahoo.com

0 Kudos
13 Replies
FranckRookie
Leadership
Leadership

Hi Christopher,

Welcome to the forums.

You can try to run VMware Player as an administrator. Right click on the Player's icon, select "Run as administrator".

Hope it helps.

Regards

Franck

cmlove
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you Franck...yes as administrator I started the installation process...But I get a blue screen with Stop; c0000221 unknown hard error\systemRoot/system32\ntdll.ll