VMware Communities
robber576
Contributor
Contributor

chicken and egg

i am new to this and learning but now i am stuck and running in circles for a few days.

i have vmware 15 installed on a windows7-64bit and am trying to get a win2000 running to use some old 32bit software, i got it installed but now the tools have to be installed and as i understood the tools need w2k-service pack4, it will break off installation with an error(setup was unable to upgrade the windows installer), i found a forum post for that error telling me the win2000 needs to be updated to sp4, so i need to install sp4 and there is where i get into the chicken and egg, because there is no sp4 installed the tools will not install and because the tools will not install i cannot get sp4 in the vm and install sp4

i tried to make a shared folder , followed the instructions on several fora but the folder will not show up in my virtual w2000, as i understood this is because i have no vmtools installed 🤣, this running around in circles is getting funny.

trying to import via a usb stick also doesnt work, the stick doesnt show up in the vm despite checking the checkbox to mount it to vmware when asked.

so i am stuck and running in circles, how do i get the w2k-sp4 installed?, i have the sp4 update as a *.exe file on my harddrive.

could this be caused because i am not logged in as admin but as user?, i tried to "run as admin" but that doesnt help.

thank you for helping.

gr richard

0 Kudos
7 Replies
niyijr
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Sounds frustrating. I feel you.

What if you got a Windows 2000 SP4 ISO image and do a fresh install of that in VMware Workstation? I suppose it should be possible to find that online.

Enthusiast
Enthusiast

0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Use a regular network shared folder, rather than the VM-specific shared folder feature.