VMware Communities
sosodany
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMware player doesnt work at all

my OS is windows 7 and i recently downloaded and installed VMware player. I dont really know what i am doing wrong , if you can list some reasons or redirect me to a thread where it has a similar problem i will really appriciate it.

Problem: VMware player never starts.

Need: I am studying for MCITP exams ( i am a fresh IT graduate) and i just figured out that everything i learned in university is useless... i need to study on windows server 2008 r2 and i am completely lost on how to obtain it freely from the net without downloading any malicious softwares or viruses with it.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
continuum
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

kill fixcamera.exe process if it exists

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

are you able to start VMware Player by right clicking and "Run as Administrator"? Maybe there's some sort of Firewall/Antivirus application which interferes with VMware Player. Do you see any thing in the log files and/or Windows Event logs?

Regarding Windows licensing. I'd recommend you take a look at Microsoft's Technet or MSDN. Those two options provide you with test licenses for all kind of MS software.

André

sosodany
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

When i run it as administrator and then click yes on the UAC window which pops up nothing happens , i switched off the windows firewall and also nothing happens.I have Avast 6 pro antivirus , even when i switch off all the shields it has the result is the same.

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Nothing in the event logs?

What I would try is to - at least temporarily - disable UAC and in case this this does not solve the issue, uninstall VMware Player, reboot and then install VMware Player again using "Run as Adminsitrator" (with Avast disabled).

André