VMware Communities
taylorjes
Contributor
Contributor

VMware Player 3.1 - Dual NIC, Win 7 (Host), Win XP (Guest) - Bridged Network Issues

Hello,

I'm very new to virtual machines, but I'm willing to learn and read. I've searched for this answer (b/c I know it's out there) for a while. and will continue to, but I though I would just post the question and ask for direction.

Setup:

VMware Player 3.1

Host:

Windows 7 (64-bit)

Dual NIC mobo

- LAN 1 - workgroup (DHCP/router/WAN access)

- LAN 2 - domain (DHCP/domain controller/intranet/WAN) {not connected via domain, but still active}

Guest 1:

Windows XP SP3 {development platform}

host-only

Guest 2:

Windows XP SP3 {domain access}

Bridged {intended to connect only to domain}

I'm trying to connect my second guest to the domain, so i can access (and deploy) development files to the intranet.

I do not see any options to designate which adapter the guest virtual adapter uses for the connection.

Help Please, Thanks Much

-jt

if this is unclear or logs are needed please let me know where and how

0 Kudos
3 Replies
BruceMcMillan
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Player does not include the Virtual Network Editor as Workstation does. That being said, I could think of two ways to resolve your problem:

- Edit the .VMX file your VM and change the ethernet0 entries to ethernet1

- Swap the LAN 1 / LAN 2 connection on your host system

taylorjes
Contributor
Contributor

thanks Bruce

I tried editing the .vmx, but that didn't work....

switching the cables worked fine, but I had to keep the adapter active in my host (Windows 7)...

not a big issue, but noted..

I can successfully access my domain and workgroup...

-jt

0 Kudos
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal