VMware Communities
shabazz5th
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMplayer to connect to VMserver? (noobie)

Hello all, this is my first post, so I hope I provide enough info for all.

I am very new to VMware, what I would like to do is setup a seperate PC that contains all our applications for new hires. They will use this machine for training purposes and what not.

So I have setup a virtual Server using VMware Server, installed an OS/etc.

My noob question is, how do I connect to it? I've done some reading, and VMplayer seems to be the answer.

Does everyone who wants to connect to the virtual server need VMPlayer installed on their PCs?

I'm running XP by the way.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Let's start with the products VMWare Workstation and VMWare Server. Using either, you create a virtual machine. This virtual machine is just a bunch of files. Think of it like a Word document. By itself the document can't be used. You need another application to actually view the contents of the document. (e.g.: Word.) For virtual machines, this application is Workstation or Server. With Word, you can create and modify the contents of the document. With Workstation or Server, you create and modify the hardware settings to a virtual machine. The key word here is modify. Workstation is not a free product. Up until recently Server wasn't free (e.g. GSX Server.) And Server is designed for a completely different market segment than a Workstation user. But suppose you wanted to create a virtual machine for someone else. Unless that person buys Workstation, they wouldn't be able to run the virtual machine. That is where Player comes in. It is free and so anyone can download and install it. Player can run existing virtual machines, but can't be used to create or modify the virtual machine settings.