VMware Communities
DavidT1983
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Workstation Boot Manager - help please!!!

Hi All,

Today I downloaded the Cisco CML2 onto my work laptop as I am moving towards the CCNP ENARSI (Advanced Routing) course and I need something more solid that flimsy Packet Tracer and even my own switches & routers.  I have downloaded the image and ISO perfectly fine from Cisco and have the license number.

On the vmware workstation I have imported the image and set it to the minimum requirements defined by Cisco i.e. 4 x CPU's, 8GB RAM.  When I start the virtual machine it (everytime) goes into boot manager.  If I also try to 'start normally' then nothing happens.

I am not a virtualization expert or a wiz in computers so if you could help me out I would be beyond grateful.  To me it doesn't look good that it's showing 'no media' as seen on the pics below.

1.PNG21.PNG

0 Kudos
33 Replies
DavidT1983
Contributor
Contributor

Yes the virtualization security is enabled in BIOS as this is required for the CML2 - if I remember correctly.  

0 Kudos
btmp
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The problem here is still likely rooted around HyperV and is due to 'Virtualization Based Security' (VBS) which is NOT a BIOS/EFI option! It is a Windows Security option also known as 'Device Guard' or 'Core Isolation' > 'Memory Integrity' that as the name implies uses Virtualization.

Prior to 15.5.6 Workstation could not even run when this was enabled. After Workstation 15.5.6 was released it was supposed to work with Windows 10 Builds beyond 2004 I think it was. However, while enabled on the host, it's my (perhaps incorrect?) understanding that you will not be able use the extra CPU Virtualization for guest VMs as Windows is using it along with some of the core HyperV components to handle this added security and it wont allow nested virtualization with non HyperV products.