VMware Communities
DavidT1983
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Workstation Boot Manager - help please!!!

Hi All,

Today I downloaded the Cisco CML2 onto my work laptop as I am moving towards the CCNP ENARSI (Advanced Routing) course and I need something more solid that flimsy Packet Tracer and even my own switches & routers.  I have downloaded the image and ISO perfectly fine from Cisco and have the license number.

On the vmware workstation I have imported the image and set it to the minimum requirements defined by Cisco i.e. 4 x CPU's, 8GB RAM.  When I start the virtual machine it (everytime) goes into boot manager.  If I also try to 'start normally' then nothing happens.

I am not a virtualization expert or a wiz in computers so if you could help me out I would be beyond grateful.  To me it doesn't look good that it's showing 'no media' as seen on the pics below.

1.PNG21.PNG

0 Kudos
33 Replies
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

Is the CD-ROM configured to connect at boot?

Does the OS support UEFI booting?  If not, you should switch to traditional BIOS.

0 Kudos
RaSystemlord
Expert
Expert

Yes, probably just the ISO-file is not with in the boot - as mentioned before.

For a less confusing start, this is the workflow I always follow.

Create a VM, like recommended somewhere (most important: enough disk space, which cannot be easily altered and enough RAM, which can be altered at any time (when powered OFF)).

Open its settings to see that everything is right and change things that were not possible to change in step 1 or got wrong/confusing.

Attach the ISO for loading the OS and ensure that CD/DVD comes ON with the boot.

Start the VM and follow up the instructions that the OS installation gives.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Problem with the ISO?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------