VMware Communities
MoYoDoMoYoGet
Contributor
Contributor

Request: Tips to keep viruses from leaking out of VM environment into host

Hello,

I am new to the concept of Virtual Machines, so please bare with me.
I have an old XP based computer, and it had some viruses/malware that I was not able to remove.

I recently purchased a Lenovo computer with Windows 7.

I wanted to transfer my files and whatnot from my old xp computer to my new one, but the process is daunting due to all the years of accumulation.

Also because the computer has some viruses/malware on it, I am worried about infecting my new computer.

This is where virtual machines enter..

I just learned that a virtual machine can be used with VMWare converter, and basically I can put my old OS into my new one (virtually of course). This is obviously appealing for many reasons.

The articles I read (Feel free to recommend another article if you think it is better):

http://blogs.vmware.com/workstation/2010/06/bring-your-windows-xp-pc-over-to-your-windows-7-pc-for-f...

http://quinxy.com/2011/02/17/the-new-virtual-machine-way-to-migrate-your-pc-part-i/

My concern is that any infection (Dirt) in my old computer could transfer to my new one somehow by leaking.

I started to research and found a few links where it was mentioned that viruses can slip through the virtual environment.

What can I do to keep myself safe in this situation? I don't know how to disable networking and am not experienced enough to know what measures to take. I don't plan to transfer any files from the virtual environment to my new computer at all, so maximum security would be fine.

Here are some links I found talking about this with some quotes from each link (I don't know how to do the recommendations):

http://hardforum.com/archive/index.php/t-1299798.html

"Disable all folder sharing, network, etc...