VMware Communities
DaveFromDecatur
Contributor
Contributor

Newbie question - need XP disk

I just downloaded and installed VMWare Player on my new Dell running Windows 7 Pro 64-bit. When I created my first Windows XP virtual machine, I was asked to supply an XP OS installation disk. Oops! The only XP disk I ever had was an upgrade disk from ME, which would not be any help even if I still had it.

I'm completely new at this, and don't know what to do. Would it be possible, for instance, to use Microsoft's Windows XP Mode to supply the OS? That is, I'd be running XP Mode in VMWare Player instead of in Windows Virtual PC (as I understand things). Would that work?

Thanks for anyone's help, and your patience with such a basic question.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
pcerda
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

You must to supply the installation disks in order to install any OS on a VM. You can also use a ISO image.

Try to get a copy of the OS you want to install.

Regards / Saludos

-

Patricio Cerda !http://www.images.wisestamp.com/linkedin.png!

VMware VCP-410

Join to Virtualizacion en Español group in Likedin

See My Blog

See My Linkedin Profile

-

Si encuentras que esta o cualquier otra respuesta ha sido de utilidad, vótalas. Gracias.

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer helpful or correct. Thank you.

Regards / Saludos - Patricio Cerda - vExpert 2011 / 2012 / 2013
0 Kudos
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal

I just downloaded and installed VMWare Player on my new Dell running Windows 7 Pro 64-bit....Would it be possible, for instance, to use Microsoft's Windows XP Mode to supply the OS? That is, I'd be running XP Mode in VMWare Player instead of in Windows Virtual PC (as I understand things). Would that work?