VMware Communities
meebers
Contributor
Contributor

Newbi starting VMwre - Questions

I am new to virtual disks, trying to get started.

I down loaded the VMware player and was able to install the program without issues.  I have just a few questions before I finish this up.

Host = Win7.  I wanted to install a VM for Linux Mint17 and was able to do this and it ran, but want to actually install this on a local HD. (Not C:)

It is now running off of the LiveDVD and because of that has locked out my DVD Drive.(G:)  I could not find a way to unlock it. 

My Win7 machine boots off of CD/DVD first and therefore when starting up, it runs mint rather than Win7, obviously not what I want.

Questions:

1.I want to run the VM off of data drive (m:) Hard Drive.  i.e.  M:/VMware/Mint17

2. Just to make sure I am doing this correctly, once Mint 17 is up and running in a VM, it says to right click on "Install Mint" with further choices being erase disk and install linux mint. I am assuming this means the VM and not the windows install.  Next question asks "use the entire disk" again assuming the total amount allocated to the VM?

3.  Once installed, this will not lock out my M: drive??, I would think not??

4.  While running off of the LiveDVD, mint17 was in a small window in the center of the screen (about 1/4) of total area.  Is this adjustable?

Sorry for all the ?, but  I am sure it will fall into place after this initial install.  TX

0 Kudos
4 Replies
raog
Expert
Expert

My Win7 machine boots off of CD/DVD first and therefore when starting up, it runs mint rather than Win7, obviously not what I want.

You could change the boot order via the BIOS Smiley Happy