VMware Communities
faustie
Contributor
Contributor

How can I turn off VMware virtual ethernet adapter traffic when Player is not running?

VMware newbie here. I've recently installed VMware Player 2.5.1 on XP SP3.

Like many others in these forums, I am bothered by all the services left running when Player is not running: VMware NAT Service; VMware VMnet DHCP service; and VMware Authorization Service.

I am also bothered by all the network traffic that VMware's virtual ethernet adapters (VMnet1 and VMnet8) keep sending out when the Player is not running. Most of this traffic is NetBIOS (ports 137 & 138) UDP broadcasts (192.168.*.255).

Turning off the Services is easy enough. However, I cannot figure out how to turn off the network traffic (short of disabling the drivers). What is worse, when I disable the Services mentioned above, some of the NetBIOS datagrams start getting unicast outside the local network, ie, they go out over the internet (or, at least, they would if my firewall didn't stop them). Can't quite figure out why that happens, but I don't like it.

What's also bothersome is that in some cases local processes are communicating via VMware's virtual ethernet adapters. Eg, here's the TCPView output for MSN Messenger:

msnmsgr.exe:3000 UDP 192.168.64.1:8335 :

msnmsgr.exe:3000 UDP 192.168.153.1:12776 :

msnmsgr.exe:3000 UDP 192.168.0.100:7938 :

The first two entries are VMware's virtual adapters and the third one is the actual address.

So, can anyone tell me how I can stop VMware's virtual ethernet adaptors from generating traffic when Player is not running?

TIA.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
faustie
Contributor
Contributor

I should add that I am aware that I can disable/enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP for each virtual adapter using "wmic" in the same script I disable/enable services, but 1) there is more than just NetBIOS traffic, and 2) I'm looking for something a bit cleaner that will prevent any traffic from going out on those virtual adapters.

0 Kudos
jokke