VMware Communities
Contributor
Contributor

Help Appreciated: Win7 VM Looping Infinitely on Boot

I'm a noob, so I'm probably just being an idiot. I tried to create a Win7 VM, but after a few seconds of loading, Windows crashes, returns to the VMware startup, then boots up again. It repeats like this infinitely, and I have no idea what is going on.

I have attached a log.

Thanks for the help!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Contributor
Contributor

bump

0 Kudos
RaSystemlord
Expert
Expert

I cannot deduct the log file, a real VMware Support probably could, but you could take a different approach. Do this in two stages for clarity.

Create VM first. Thus, do NOT try to load the operating system at this stage.

Check basic things from the VM, you can study it freely after creating it:

- VM has realistic memory allocation. Your physical computer still has a good amount of RAM for its use

- disk spaces are not overflowing. (You do not need to preallocate disk space). Define enough disk space to start with ... this is not something that can be changed easily afterwards (depending on several factors, perhaps it can). Use splitted files (handling a 40 GB single file is not good on your computer - if you really need it, then you already know what you are doing, like using Oracle in a heavy use).

- I trust that you did have something reasonable defined for disk space (like 60 GB for basic use, if you don't preallocate, or use a single file, it doesn't matter if that value is too much for your use. Don't put a minimum number there.)

At second stage, start installing the operating system:

- attach an iso file to CD and connect the CD-drive

- please observe that for instance a Dell OEM OS, does not allow the creation of a VM

- now power ON the VM

If the second stage fails, there is probably something wrong in the ISO image. Correct the situation or try with something else - you can get them from Internet for other OS'ses or whatever.

I hope this helps to analyze further.

0 Kudos