VMware Communities
chuck4100
Contributor
Contributor

Connect guest machine directly to modem and to LAN via dual NIC?

I have very little experience with VMs and networking but I feel like this should be possible but have no idea what I'm doing so thought I'd ask for some help or opinions.

I have a normal PC running windows 10 that I use as a home server (Plex, backups, Webserver, game servers, etc...) with VMware Player (free version).

The system currently has 3 Network adapters, an onboard NIC and a dual port NIC in PCI slot.

I also have the netgear CM1200 modem with 4 ports.

My desire is to connect a VM running on the system to my LAN and a separate direct connection to the internet via the PCI NIC.

Really, I want one NIC for the HOST only, One for guest LAN only and 3rd for guest internet only.

I managed the host and guest effectively using their own NIC to LAN but if I add the direct connection to the modem in anyway it seems to prevent all connectivity to the VM.

Some things,

Seeing as I didn't build the system for this, pretty sure I don't have the ability to do PCI passthough.

With the direct to modem connection added to VM, ipconfig shows irregular IPs (subnetmask 255.255.0.0) and no gateway.

ipconfig on host shows a proper connection on the direct to modem line.

Thanks for any ideas!

P.S. A recommendation to more appropriate forums is also welcome.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
oligarch
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Just to clarify.....when you say PCI, are you referring to a legacy PCI slot (white) or to a standard PCIe slot (black)?

0 Kudos
chuck4100
Contributor
Contributor

PCI express. currently a x1 to be more exact.

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

What I think that should meet your requirements is to create a dedicated "Bridged" virtual network adapter that's bound to the "Intenet"-NIC.

However, the Virtual Network Editor that allows you to configure this is only available in VMware Workstation Pro, which you can evaluate for 30 days.