VMware Communities
robmypro99
Contributor
Contributor

Configuring sub domains to point to separate virtual machines

Hey guys, I am pretty new to VMware and I am having trouble configuring my network. Any help would be greatly appreciated. First, let me explain my setup:

I have 3 sub domains on a hosted server:

subdomain1.domain.com

subdomain2.domain.com

subdomain3.domain.com

All three sub domains point to the same public IP address, which is the Windows 2003 Server I have at home. This is a static IP address.

On my home network I am running 3 vm's (all on CentOS), each of which i want to access using the subdomains above.

The IP addresses for each vm are:

So here's my question. How do I configure VM or my network so that when the user types in subdomain1.domain.com it goes to the vm instance running on 192.168.0.211, while typing in subdomain2.domain.com it goes to the vm instance running on 192.168.0.212? Right now regardless of the subdomain I select all 3 go to the same instance (192.168.0.211).

I also want to add that I can access all 3 vm's internally using the 192.168.x.x address and it works fine. It is just an issue for people accessing the instances outside my network.

I hope this makes sense. Thanks guys!

0 Kudos
2 Replies
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal