VMware Communities
dlee1964
Contributor
Contributor

Can't connect to host SQL Server when not wired to network

Hi all:

My host machine is Windows XP and my VM is also Windows XP on my corporate laptop. I can connect to my development SQL Server on the host from the VM successfully while plugged in at work (ie, hard-wired to my corporate network). Now, when I come home, I cannot access the SQL Server on the host from the VM. I am a rookie with VMWare and only somewhat aware of networking issues. Below, I've pasted the output of the ipconfig command. I can ping the 192.168.1.104 address, but neither of the others work (ie, they timeout). I suspect that I should be able to ping all three successfully for me to be able to see my SQL Server.

So, is there a setting I need to modify so I can see the SQL Server instance located on the host machine at all times (both when connected at work and when not connected)?

Thanks,

Del

-

C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\hgglde>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.59.1

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.116.1

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter {4A3B7449-0038-4F8C-B09E-C859AA5AD4F3}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.104

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

0 Kudos
5 Replies
KYordy
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

When at home, try changing the ethernet settings for the VM to either Host Only or NAT. That should allow you to connect.

Good Luck!

dlee1964
Contributor
Contributor