VMware Communities
DrHow
Contributor
Contributor

Can I run an existing XP installation from the (good) hard drive of a broken PC?

My XP machine has failed.  (A timely death I suppose.  I am now running on a new machine which came with Windows 8.)  The old XP hard drive is OK.  I'd like to be able to run some of the old apps which are installed in the XP environment - partly to facilitate transferring some things over to Windows 8.1.  Though I have no prior experience with virtual machines, I was expecting that I could install the old drive with XP on it in the new machine and be able to run that XP image in a virtual machine.  However, all the walk-throughs I have found for virtualizing one's old XP installation seem to assume that the XP machine is still running.  So I am no longer convinced that it is possible to do what I want, but I do get the impression that VMware Player offers the best chance of success.

If it is still possible, I am hoping that some kind folks will introduce me to the relevant terminology and point me to the relevant documentation.  If I am overlooking some easy viable alternative, please clue me in.

The old CPU was an AMD Athlon.  The GPU was a Radeon variant.  The old hard drive is a SATA drive (which I mention because XP did not come with SATA drivers and I had to clone it onto the SATA drive after installing them).  The new machine is based on an AMD A10-5700 APU.