VMware Communities
Gooses
Contributor
Contributor

Beginner having issues.

Hey guys,

I'm new to Virtual Machines and I am having some trouble. I have tried both VMware and Virtualbox and I can't get either to work so I am wondering if there is a conflict somewhere on my computer or maybe I'm just doing something wrong.

For VMware, I have tried both Windows 7 and Linux virtual machines. The Win7 one installs but once I get into windows it locks up and I have to end the process. The linux one during install gets to a purple screen with power in the top right corner and a mouse pointer in the middle of the screen and locks up. Windows 7 is a 32bit copy of ultimate, Linux is ubuntu 10.10.

I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, which I just reinstalled a few days ago.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,

Kyle

0 Kudos
11 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Forums - What product are you trying to use? If it is VMware Player there is really not much to it and I have not heard of any issues installing -  VMware Player allows you to run pre-existing  virtual machines that are already configured -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
Gooses
Contributor
Contributor

It is indeed VMware player. It does seem pretty straight forward, but it is not working for me.

It is for pre-existing virtual machines? Is it meant to create them? Because it seems like it has the capabilities to. Or perhaps that's why they aren't working..

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Player is not meant for building VMs - you will need to use VMware Workstation or VMware Server - your can also download prebuilt VMs from  the VMware Appliance Market Place - http://www.vmware.com/appliances/

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos