VMware Cloud Community
scottg69
Contributor
Contributor

vmware-vim-cmd to powershell

Hi all, I am pretty new to powershell and was looking for some advice. To audit the config of our current ESX hosts we use vmware-vim-cmd commands to get the info we require. I would like to move this to powershell if possible, so suppose I have a couple questions around this:

1.) Is it possible to get ALL the same info from powershell that is available from vmware-vim-cmd commands?

2.) If so is there any good reference material or hints and tips to allow me to understand how I would convert my vmware-vim-cmd commands to powershell?

Thanks in advance.

S69

0 Kudos
5 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

I can't confirm that you get everything that vmware-vim-cmd will give you since I don't know that command/script that good and it can produce an impressive amount of data (like PowerCLI can).

Are there any specific areas you are looking at ?

And btw, if PowerCLI doesn't have a "canned" solution, it's rather easy to fall back on the SDK methods and properties.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
scottg69
Contributor
Contributor

Hi LucD, I am looking to output as much of the config as possible. A useful start would be similar to the output of the vmware-vim-cmd /hostsvc/hostconfig comand. If there was a similar in powershell that would be a great starter for 10.

Thanks for your time.

S69

0 Kudos
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

vmware-vim-cmd /hostsvc/hostconfig most likely represents the following in vSphere API: HostConfigInfo. Majority if not all the available information of vimsh is using what's available in the API and there's always a chance that some of the information maybe using some internal APIs, but from what I've seen, you can easily map what's in output back to the API

=========================================================================

William Lam

VMware vExpert 2009