VMware Cloud Community
pfuhli
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

stuck on getting connected state of VMs CDROM

Hello,

I tried to iterate through my VMs for getting the ConnectionState of the CDROM attached to each VM. Unfortunately I'm a bloody beginner with Power Shell 😕 Maybe someone of you can guide me through?

Here my starting point which only works for one VM:

$server = Get-VIServer -Server <serverIP> -User <username> -Password <mypassword>

$vm = Get-VM -Name <vmname>

($vm | Get-CDDrive).ConnectionState | ft { $vm.Name },Connected

How do I have to wrap this to get the data for all my VMs?

Regards,

daniel

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

To get the names of VMs with connected CD drives you could use something like:

get-vm | where { $_ | get-cddrive | where { $_.ConnectionState.Connected -eq "true" } } | select Name

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
glynnd1
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

get-vm | % { get-view $_.ID } | select Name, @{ Name="ToolsVersion"; Expression={$_.config.tools.toolsVersion}}

get-vm | % {$name = $_.name + ".csv"; $_ | get-stat -stat disk.write.average -Realtime -MaxSamples 180 | select timestamp,value,metricId | export-csv $name }

Using the above two lines as examples I think the line below is what you want. The % is a foreach loop. Haven't tested it, and I'm a complete newbie - or at least was on Monday Smiley Happy

get-vm | % Get-CDDrive.ConnectionState | ft {$vm.Name},Connected

halr9000
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

I tried to iterate through my VMs for getting the ConnectionState of the CDROM attached to each VM. Unfortunately I'm a bloody beginner with Power Shell

($vm | Get-CDDrive).ConnectionState | ft { $vm.Name },Connected