VMware Cloud Community
kurth83
Contributor
Contributor

running PowerCLI on vCenter

I am a developer for a storage provider, we have a vcenter plugin, and I want to interrogate ESX health, using vmkping and a few other utilities to check some ESX config parameters.

Another forum suggested powerCLI as a possible solution, my questions are:

- can it run on both VCSA and windows version? (We support 6.5 and later VC).

- how can it authenticate to the ESX's?  Escrowing ESX passwords is likely a non-starter.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

Please don't, it's a very bad idea.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
kurth83
Contributor
Contributor

So, discovered how to install powershell and powerCLI on vCenter VCSA 6.5 and 6.7 (photon 1 OS)!!!

For the record, switching to a remote plugin architecture (supported on vSphere 6.7 U1 and later) is the best way forward for plugin developers, since the remote OS can use powershell without impacting your VCSA VM, but if you absolutely must have powercli on your VCSA, here is how to do it on all VCSA's 6.5, 6.7, and 7.0, and more generally, how to do it on photon 1):

For vCenter 7.0 - based on photon 3, which supports powershell and powercli natively (thanks VMware for fixing this):

tdnf install powershell - yes it really is that easy.  And network install of powershell also works:

From powershell:

Find-Module -Name VMware.PowerCLI

Install-Module -Name VMware.PowerCLI -Scope CurrentUser

Instructions for installing powershell on 6.5 and 6.7 VCSA (Photon 1 OS).

This is a manual install because Photon 1 (VCSA's OS) does not support automated install of powershell:

The short version (3 basic steps + ENV):

- download powershell, untar into VCSA

- edit the json config file

- download PowerCLI on another powershell capable VM, and transfer it to VCSA Modules directory.