VMware Cloud Community
VirtualNoitall
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

really slow performance or bad code?

Hello,

I am no programmer so feel free to sharply criticize the following code without holding back -):

foreach ($ds in Get-Datastore -Name datastore*) {

$a = 0

foreach ($vm in get-VM -Datastore $ds){

$a++}

Write-Host $ds.Name " VMs: " $a " Capacity: " $ds.CapacityMB " Free: " $ds.FreeSpaceMB

}

All I want to to is iterate through the datstores and find out the number of VMs, the free space and the capacity for each. The later two are actually available by just querying the datastore but I don't think the first is so I wrote what you see above. I have probably 100 datastore of which roughly half follow the naming scheme that would include them in the query. This seemed pretty straigh forward but the query takes over an hour to run Smiley Sad

The long running part is the querying of each included datastore for VMs so I can count them. Does the beta perform poorly or is there a better way to get what I am after?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
25 Replies
halr9000
Commander
Commander

Oh, duh, I wasn't really reading your script closely. What you need to do is to do the Get commands only once if you can help it. I see that you are doing get-vm at the top, and get-vm | get-view at the bottom. There's actually much to be optimized with this script, especially as your environment is so large. My lab's not on at the moment, I'll play with this later if Luc doesn't beat me to it.

[PowerShell MVP|https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile=5547F213-A069-45F8-B5D1-17E5BD3F362F], VI Toolkit forum moderator

Author of the upcoming book: Managing VMware Infrastructure with PowerShell

Co-Host, PowerScripting Podcast (http://powerscripting.net)

Need general, non-VMware-related PowerShell Help? Try the forums at PowerShellCommunity.org

My signature used to be pretty, but then the forum software broked it. vExpert. Microsoft MVP (Windows PowerShell). Author, Podcaster, Speaker. I'm @halr9000