VMware Cloud Community
bottomofbarrel
Contributor
Contributor

powercli script to capture cpu & mem usage stats

i am new to powercli and am not a good scriptor yet however, i need a script that will capture the max, min, avg cpu & mem usage stats per esxhost & vm for the past month and import into excel so i can create a pivot chart. key is i need to see the cpu/mem usage data per vm per host. can anyone help me with this. i have spent the last two weeks trying to work with powercli to do this and i am unable produce the results i want.

171 Replies
EChokshi
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks LucD for prompt response.

Yes, sorry $vms = Get-VM was part of the query and i checked its output. It was showing all VMs part of the selected vCenter. But not sure why it would only iterate for 2 days only?

0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

Do you see all the days under the Performance tab in the Web Client?

It could be that there is an issue with the aggregation jobs.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
EChokshi
Contributor
Contributor

Hi LucD,

Yes, Performance charts are all there hence i was confused why the script wouldnt iterate for the chosen range?

If aggregation jobs may be the culprit what can be done in terms of remediation? any idea?

0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

If the Performance  charts are there, the aggregation jobs should be ok.

Another option you might try, on the Get-Stat line add the following '-ErrorAction SilentlyContinue'.

0 Kudos
EChokshi
Contributor
Contributor

tried that... what i noticed was that when I also added -IntervalSecs 1800 it iterated for intended period otherwise only for 2 days (i think it does -IntervalSecs 300)???

I really need 5 min or 30 min or 1 hoursly stats and find an avg based on that.

0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

If you go back further in time, the intervals become longer (that is what the aggregation jobs are doing).