VMware Cloud Community
dscottimw
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

inventory report including last poweroff date

Hi,

I'm new to power cli (about a week of trying it) and am trying to run a powercli script that will give me a list of powered off vm's with specific information including the date it was powered off. My script looks like this :

@"
===============================================================================
Title:         vminventory.ps1
Description:   Exports VM Information from vCenter into a .CSV file for importing into anything
Usage:         .\vminventory.ps1
Date:          10/15/2012
"@
#### Get Virtual Center To Connect to:
$VCServerName = Read-Host "What is the Virtual Center name?"
$ExportFilePath = Read-Host "Where do you want to export the data?"
$VC = Connect-VIServer $VCServerName
$Report = @()
#$VMs = Get-Folder $VMFolder | Get-VM
$VMs = get-vm |Where-object {$_.powerstate -eq "poweredoff"}
$Datastores = Get-Datastore | select Name, Id
$VMHosts = Get-VMHost | select Name, Parent
### Get powered off event time:
ForEach ($VM in $VMs) {
Get-VIEvent -Entity $VM -MaxSamples ([int]::MaxValue) | where {$_ -is [VMware.Vim.VmPoweredOffEvent]} |
Group-Object -Property {$_.Vm.Name} | %{
$lastPO = $_.Group | Sort-Object -Property CreatedTime -Descending | Select -First 1 | Select -ExpandProperty CreatedTime
New-Object PSObject -Property @{
VM = $_.Group[0].Vm.Name
  "Last Poweroff"= $lastPO
}
}
      $VMView = $VM | Get-View
      $VMInfo = {} | Select VMName,Powerstate,OS,IPAddress,ToolsStatus,Host,Cluster,Datastore,NumCPU,MemMb,DiskGb,SSGOwner,BUSowner,PowerOFF,Note
      $VMInfo.VMName = $vm.name
      $VMInfo.Powerstate = $vm.Powerstate
      $VMInfo.OS = $vm.Guest.OSFullName
      $VMInfo.IPAddress = $vm.Guest.IPAddress[0]
      $VMInfo.ToolsStatus = $VMView.Guest.ToolsStatus
      $VMInfo.Host = $vm.host.name
      $VMInfo.Cluster = $vm.host.Parent.Name