VMware Cloud Community
Foker
Contributor
Contributor

how to combine cmdlets and output

I am sure there is a way to do this but im new to powershell.  I would like to know how to combine get-vm and get-disk results so i can output to one line per server.  The only way i saw so far was 3 seperate loops one for get-vm info one for get-disk and one for extensiondata.guest.disk info (part of get-vm but seperate).  I have removed them sense that made output to a csv look like crud.  I currently am pulling the values per machine which give me multiple values for disk for example and diskpath etc and i want to out put them independently but all on one line per server.  So server1 i would like to get all disk, vm info, extension data and put it in different cells but one line if possilbe.  Also the ability to format the data with /1 gb etc switches would be nice.  Right now extension data is as is or i get a system error about operator not found naming the math operator i as trying to use division in particular since kb is not pretty to read for disk space.

Here is the working sample not pretty but works.  Is there a way to do combine the cmdlets so output will be easier.  Right now i can't format some of the data since it is a system object vs the seperate values for each object if that makes sense.

$LogFile = $LogPath + (Get-Date -Format "yyyy-MM-dd_HHmmss-") + "VcVmDiskInfo.csv"
"Virtual Center VM Information " + "`r`n" | Out-File $LogFile -Append
"Name `t Host `t DataStore `t Provisioned Space `t Used Space `t Disk Name `t VmDK Name `t Format `t Persistence `t DiskType `t Capacity GB `t Partition Path `t Capacity GB `t Free Space `n" | Out-File $LogFile -Append

Import-CSV $importCSV | Foreach-Object{
    $strComputer = $_.computer

$VM = get-vm $strComputer | Select name,VmHost,ProvisionedSpaceGB,UsedSpaceGB,DatastoreIdList,ExtensionData,guest,disk
$Disk = Get-HardDisk $strComputer | Select filename,storageFormat,persistence,disktype,Capacitykb,name