VMware Cloud Community
binoche
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

hot adding ahci controller to vm using powercli?

Hi Experts,

sorry I am new to powercli, and try to work out a powercli script to hot add ahci controller to vm,

unfortunately my script failed to work, would you please shed a light what was wrong? really appreciate

Function New-AHCIController {

Param (

[Parameter(Mandatory=$True,ValueFromPipeline=$True,ValueFromPipelinebyPropertyName=$True)]

$VM

)

Process {

$VMSpec = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualMachineConfigSpec

$VMSpec.deviceChange = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualDeviceConfigSpec

$VMSpec.deviceChange[0] = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualDeviceConfigSpec

$VMSpec.deviceChange[0].operation = "add"

$VMSpec.deviceChange[0].device = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualAHCIController

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.backing = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualDeviceBackingInfo

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.busnumber = 0

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.controllerkey = 100

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.key = 15001

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.unitnumber = 25

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.device = 16000

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.slotinfo = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualDeviceBusSlotInfo

$VMspec.deviceChange[0].device.connectable = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualDeviceConnectInfo

$VM.ExtensionData.ReconfigVM($VMSpec)        

}

}

$vcserver="192.168.1.100"
Connect-VIServer -server $vcserver -username root -password vmware

$vm=get-vm|where {$_.name -eq "ahci-SLES11"}

$vm|New-AHCIController

Exception calling "ReconfigVM" with "1" argument(s): "Invalid configuration for device '0'."

At line:20 char:37

+         $VM.ExtensionData.ReconfigVM <<<< ($VMSpec)

+ CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [], MethodInvocationException

+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : DotNetMethodException

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

That code seems to be generated by Onyx.