VMware Cloud Community
marvinb
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

getting a function to run in a script

I am a bit of a newbie. I have created a script vi.ps1 with the following content:

function myvi

When i fund the command from the command line it works as expected. a call to myvi brings up the vi editor

When I try to run it as a script, it just says that myvi is not recognized as a cmdlet.

I can run other scripts, but this one will not work correctly. The executionpolicy is unrestricted.

I am running the powercli.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

In PS v1 you add all the functions you want to have available in one of your profile scripts.

When you start PS or the PowerCLI prompt this profile is executed and all the functions become available.

In PS v2 you can add all your functions to a module and then do a Get-Module in one of your profile scripts.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
halr9000
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

You are in the current directory where the script is located? You probably just need to prepend the filename with a dot-backslash like so:

.\myscript.ps1

That's a "feature". Since we don't have the concept of 'chmod +x' on Windows, this was seen as a mechanism for preventing the accidental execution of a script that was maliciously inserted into the current folder.

--

Hal Rottenberg / hal@halr9000.com<mailto:hal@halr9000.com> / halr9000.com<http://halr9000.com>

Microsoft MVP (PowerShell) / VMware vExpert

Co-Host, PowerScripting Podcast / Director, PowerShellCommunity.org

"Managing VMware Infrastructure with PowerShell: TFM", now shipping!

Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/halr9000

My signature used to be pretty, but then the forum software broked it. vExpert. Microsoft MVP (Windows PowerShell). Author, Podcaster, Speaker. I'm @halr9000
0 Kudos
marvinb
Enthusiast
Enthusiast