VMware Cloud Community
jpoling
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

VMs and Disk Files

I am still a newbie with this. . .is there a command (or pipeline) I can use to list my VMs and the size of the associated disk files?

Thanks,

Jeff

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

That info is available.

The simplest method is like this:

Get-VM | Get-Harddisk

If you need specific info you can pipe the output to for example the Select-Object cmdlet.

Or if you want only specific entries you can filter the output with Where-Object cmdlet.

The possibilities are endless with PowerShell.

As an example, the following line list the name of the guest, the name of the hard disk and the size of the hard disk in KB

Get-VM | %{$_ | Tee-Object -variable vm | Get-HardDisk | %{Write-Host $vm.Name $_.Name $_.CapacityKB}}

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
2 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

That info is available.

The simplest method is like this:

Get-VM | Get-Harddisk

If you need specific info you can pipe the output to for example the Select-Object cmdlet.

Or if you want only specific entries you can filter the output with Where-Object cmdlet.

The possibilities are endless with PowerShell.

As an example, the following line list the name of the guest, the name of the hard disk and the size of the hard disk in KB

Get-VM | %{$_ | Tee-Object -variable vm | Get-HardDisk | %{Write-Host $vm.Name $_.Name $_.CapacityKB}}

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
kattrap
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution