VMware Cloud Community
scottont
Contributor
Contributor

Snapshots via a Custom Web Page using PowerCLI

Aftn all,

I've looked around and can see the associated code for taking a snapshot, reverting back a snapshot, checking the age of a snapshot etc which I can get my head around, however I have a slightly bigger requirement.

Complete newbie when it comes to this so apologises with this seems noddy

Background,

We would like to offer Application testers the ability to self administer VM's - We have a few virtual desktops set to one side, (Citrix XenDesktop v5.5 running on top of ESXi v4.1 - Moving to v5 in the coming months) and what we would like to offer them is the ability to pick their assigned VM (ie select from a list\drop down etc) and take \ revert snapshots of that VM all from a purpose built web page.

On top of this I would like to add in the date the snapshot was taken , so they can keep an eye on how old the snapshot is.

Also we will be looking to limit the snapshots per VM to 1 (otherwise it will be a housekeeping nightmare)

So I thought we could have a box where they select their VM from and then another box where it displays their Snapshot and date (or age) and then have a couple of buttons each running PowerCLI commands under them to either take a snapshot and directly overwite the image there or revert a snapshot.

There by offering the ability to have a VM, take a snapshot, then install an app, test it and revert back to the vanilla machine snapshot before installing another app etc etc

Any help and assistance would be greatly apprecitaed as I do not seem to be getting very far with Google ...

Thanx

Tony

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MartinAmaro
Expert
Expert