VMware Cloud Community
crnine
Contributor
Contributor

Show the State(InvalidState) of a machine via scripting

HI All,

I have a problem with some of my VM's in my VCenter:

Few ones of them go in an unknown state and aren't accessible for our users.

When I try to start them via Power CLI I get the error:

Start-VM        The operation for the entity VirtualMachine-vm-1280  failed with the following message: "The operation is not allowed in the  current state of the host."
At line:1 char:32
+ start-vm <<<<
    + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [Start-VM], InvalidHostState
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId :

As I'm very new to the CLI can someone tell me how I can't show the State/InvalidState of a machine via scripting?

Thanks and Regards Smiley Wink

crnine

0 Kudos
15 Replies
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal

Hello and welcome to the communities.

Note: Discussion successfully moved from VMware vCenter™ to VMware vSphere™ PowerCLI

Brian Atkinson | vExpert | VMTN Moderator | Author of "VCP5-DCV VMware Certified Professional-Data Center Virtualization on vSphere 5.5 Study Guide: VCP-550" | @vmroyale | http://vmroyale.com
0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

Could this be due to the fact that the ESX(i) that hosts this VM is in maintenance mode ?

Do a

Get-VM -Name MyVM | Select -ExpandProperty Host | Select Name,ConnectionState,PowerState

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
crnine
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for moving to the right section Smiley Wink

@LucD: No, the VM is not in maintenance mode, it is only powered off and on the first side in the VCenter of the machine no VM options(powering of, starting, settings..) are available.

The log says that a file is lock so no actions possible with VM but atm I only try to create a script which can tell me which machine has this problem.

It is a waste of time to check all the machines(around 2000) every hour or so, to find the error ones.