VMware Cloud Community
Mang201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Set CPU & Memory Limit for All VMs in Cluster using PowerCLI

Hello Experts,

I am new to PowerCLI, and looking for script where i can set the CPU & Memory Limit for all VMs in Cluster using PowerCLI.

For single VM i can set it using below command, however i would like to set the same amount of CPU memory allocated to the VM (If the VM has 2GB RAM & 1 CPU - Then it should set CPU limit as 1000 & Memory limit as 2048 for that VM)

Get-VMResourceConfiguration <VM-Name> | Where-Object {$_.MemLimitMB -eq '-1'} | Set-VMResourceConfiguration -MemLimitMB 2048 -CpuLimitMhz 1000

Can this be done using one liner or script?

-M

0 Kudos
13 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

You could do something like this

Get-Cluster -Name MyCLuster | Get-VM | `

Get-VMResourceConfiguration  | Where-Object  {$_.MemLimitMB -eq '-1'} | `

Set-VMResourceConfiguration -MemLimitMB 2048  -CpuLimitMhz 1000

You get all guests from the cluster and 'pipe' each guest to the Get-VMResourceConfiguration cmdlet.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
Mang201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your response.

If i run this command it will set the same limit on all the VMs, but i have VMs with different configuration (Some are with 2 CPU's & 8GB RAM)

My requirement is to have same CPU & Memory limit set which is allocated to each VM.

For example - I have 2 VMs in cluster (VM1 & VM2) VM1 has 2CPU & 4GB RAM and VM2 has 1CPU & 8GB RAM. I am looking for the script which will set the Resource Limit on VM same as resource allocated to it.

-M

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

please don't mind me asking. What is the reason you want to set the limits to the allocate resources? This does not make any sense to me. I could understand if you would like to set the reservation, however the limit usually is only useful when you need a lower value than the configured/allocated ones.