VMware Cloud Community
Pilu1978
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Searching files in Datastore

HI,

I want to create a script but and I am new to powercli so need your help to achieve the below:

Generally when we browse any datastore the path is showing as mentioned below:

[datastorename]/VMfoldername1

[datastorename]/VMfoldername2

[datastorename]/VMfoldername3

Now I need a script which will go to each "VMfoldername" folder of a datastore and search for vmdk, flat-vmdk and vmx files. If any of these three files are not present it will return the name of VMfoldername.

I search a lot in internet but all I am getting is orphaned vmdk script where files are searched on per datastore basis and detect the orphaned vmdk.

But my requirement is little different.

Plesae help me to achieve the above mentioned task through powercli.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

You could use the datastore provider.

Something like this

$ds = Get-Datastore -Name MyDS 
New-PSDrive
-Location $ds -Name ds -PSProvider VimDatastore -Root '\'
Get-ChildItem
-Path ds:\ -Recurse

In the objects that are returned you can now use the -match operator on the Name property to test your files

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
Pilu1978
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi LucD,

Thanks a lot for the information.

I would request if you can send me the entire script. As I am new to powercli so it will help me understand it completely and gather knowledge as well.

0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

Sure, try something like this.

The script uses a recursive function to traverse through the folder structure.

function Test-Folder{
    param(
    [string]$FolderPath
    )         $found = Get-ChildItem -Path $FolderPath | where {$_.Name -match ".vmdk" -or $_.Name -match ".vmx"}     if(!$found){         $FolderPath