VMware Cloud Community
mjc2001
Contributor
Contributor

Retreiving FC adapter detail from all hosts...

Hi all,

This is my first post on here so please be gentle with me, I am relatively new to Powershell and PowerCLI for VMWare and have delved into attempting to use 'get-esxcli -vmhost v2' against a list of hosts to retrieve the hba adapter details, specifically vmhba driver detail in order to investigate a san connectivity issue.

Once connected, I then drill into this content as follows to retrieve the fc detail I am after, $host.storage.san.fc.list.invoke()

This works fine for newer Synergy 480 Gen10 hardware but for older kit such as a ProLiant BL460c Gen9, It does not list the adapter driver details.

Does anyone know what I am either doing wrong or what I can do to retrieve the details I am after using PowerCLI, I have found other scripts which use ssh via plink and stop/start the ssh service per ESXi host but I find this a bit clunky and unsecure.

Many thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

As you discovered, the level of detail, or even the complete lack of it, depends on the brand and type of HW.

Not all HW vendors play nice by putting the info available in the place where VMware commands, like esxcli, expect to find it.

Sometimes running a command from the console is the only option.

With the Posh-SSH module you don't need to be bother with plink.exe and the likes anymore.

See for example my Use Posh-SSH instead of PuTTY post.

You still need to have the SSH service running.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
mjc2001
Contributor
Contributor

Hi LucD and thanks very much for your prompt reply and immediate insight to my problem.

I am then based on your recommendations working towards a solution using the Posh-SSH Module however can you suggest how I can retrieve the host FC detail I am looking for?

Also do you know of any reading material for a beginner for PowerCLI?

Thanks again!