VMware Cloud Community
ukmtk
Contributor
Contributor

Reset VM test box

Forgive me if this is a silly question. I'm a developer but a complete newbie to vSphere Power CLI.

I'll describe the scenario I have and what I am attempting to do. I have a number of VMs that are automated test boxes. They are reset by the VM server each night and then run a suite of automated tests. Currently I reboot them every 4 hours to rerun the tests (using "shutdown -r"). Unfortunately these reboots leave installed software remaining on the VMs.

Solution: what I would like to do is get the VM to request a reset of itself if the automated tests run successfully. I.e. if the tests fail the VM will not request a reset. At first I had hoped that with the CLI I might be able to do this with something along the lines of:

get-vm testbox | stop-vm | start-vm

I suspect that this might not actually work from the testbox itself? When I tried a stop-vm command in a shell (Windows PowerShell or vSpere Power CLI) it keeps asking for a Y/N confirmation (regardless of the "-confirm" switch)? Would this also happen in a script?

Is what I wish to do possible from the test VM box itself? And what software do I actually need to install on this machine? It would be a lot easier if there were some simple executable I could place on the VM itself that would allow it to perform simple commands (e.g. a "reset").

0 Kudos
8 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

Provided you have PowerShell and PowerCLI installed on those test boxes you should be able to trigger the restart from the test box itself.

Remember that you first will need to set up a connection to the vCenter or the ESX server with Coonect-ViServer.

The confirmation prompt can be overruled by the -Confirm parameter.

Connect-ViServer -Server <vCentername>
Get-VM <VM-name> | Stop-Vm -Confirm:$false | Start-Vm