VMware Cloud Community
jmsloane
Contributor
Contributor

PowerCLI script for gathering data metrics for $fullname, please help!

@Not sure where I found this script but it is quite amazing! I would like to modify this script to get all of the available metrics and values for each of the $fullname variables. I am new to PowerCLI and the terminology but the output of this script shows all variables, the levels and the definition as it states in the script memos. I need to gather all of the vmhost averages and values. I would love to be able to configure the script to also show the values in %'s / gb / ms etc etc. Please help? I know the output currently generates an error, I am unable to get the values from the fullnames.

# define where we will save our performance metrics.   

Tags (1)
15 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

That script has some serious flaws, not sure how someone ever got it to run and produce some output.

The script seems to query all Realtime performance metrics for all ESXi nodes over 1 hour, and then average the returned values.

I'm not sure what the purpose of that exercise would be.

Further, not all performance metrics are available for ESXi nodes, some are intended for clusters, VMs, datastores...
So you will most probably get some errors there as well.

Perhaps you can explain what exactly do you want to report upon?

Which performance metrics? And that for each ESXi node individually, or an average over all ESXi nodes?

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
jmsloane
Contributor
Contributor

LucD,