VMware Cloud Community
Brcko_94
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

PowerCLI script - New VM from template

Hi All

I'm very new to power CLI scripting and in recent days I've been reading a lot of help in order to automate creation of a new VM based on the VM template.  Scripting that is not that hard, even locating new VM on a particular datastore and in a particular resource pool is not hard.  To do that I've come up with this very basic script/command:

"New-VM -ResourcePool <resource_pool> -Location <folder_name> -Datastore <datastore_name> -Name <VM_name> -Template <template_name>"

However, I've come across a couple of problems that I can't seem to find any information in help nor in forums.  Problem with the above command is that VM will be created in appropriate resource pool and folder as long as they are unique, but if there are multiple instances of resource pool or folder with the same name than the script spits a dummy.

So for example if I want to create a new VM in following location Data_Centre => RootFolder1 => SubFolder1 => SubFolder2 and the name of SubFolder2 is unique than no issues, the VM is created in that location.  However if the SubFolder2 exists in Data_Centre => RootFolder2 => SubFolder1 as well than the VM is created in the root folder of the template location.  For example if the template is in "DC => Folder1 => Subfolder1 => Subfolder2" the VM will be created in Folder1

Any suggestion on how to ensure that the VM is created in desired location/folder as well as resource pool?  I see there are some really smart guys here and I suspect addressing this issue wouldn't be a problem at all.  Any assistance would be much appreciated.

Cheers

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

It will be a matter of following the righ path.

You can use the Location parameter to get the exact folder you want. For example

$dc = Get-Datacenter -Name DC1

$folder = Get-Folder -Name Folder1 -Location $dc