VMware Cloud Community
raymondcruz22
Contributor
Contributor

PowerCLI Scripting - SnapShot Create Date is older than 3 days

Hi All!

I was tasked to create a script which queries all the snapshots created VMs in an eSXI host.   The main requirement is to generate a list of snapshots and VMs with create date of older than 3 days.   If there is a snapshot older than 3 days, create a ticket (internal ticketing system) - what I did was to send an email instead that will trigger the ticket creation.

I'm new in scripting and doing my best to have the most simple script to get this information.   From my research over the internet (here‌ and some tweaking on SMTP config) I was able to use a script to get the list of snapshots and their creation date, and send the report via email.   I now need to trim down the report to those snapshots which are older than 3 days and send an email to me.

Can anyone clarify what I need to only include the snapshots with a create date greater than 3 days?

Below is the script I'm using

# PowerShell script to check for VM snapshots and send Email report

add-pssnapin VMware.VimAutomation.Core

Connect-VIServer -Server <ip-or-host> -User <username> -Password <password>

# HTML formatting

$a = "<style>"

$a = $a + "BODY{background-color:white;}"

$a = $a + "TABLE{border-width: 1px;border-style: solid;border-color: black;border-collapse: collapse;}"

$a = $a + "TH{border-width: 1px;padding: 5px;border-style: solid;border-color: black;foreground-color: black;background-color: LightBlue}"

$a = $a + "TD{border-width: 1px;padding: 5px;border-style: solid;border-color: black;foreground-color: black;background-color: white}"

$a = $a + "</style>"

# Main section of check

Write-Host "Checking VMs for for snapshots"

$date = get-date

$datefile = get-date -uformat '%m-%d-%Y-%H%M%S'

$filename = "c:\dir\Snapshots_" + $datefile + ".htm"

# Get list of VMs with snapshots