VMware Cloud Community
wardla
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Newbie Question: Listing VMs Configuration and What Datastores

Hi

I am new to using powercli How do I list all VMs in a certain datacenter, their memory, Procs and what datastores they reside on.

I know you can use get-vm | select-object name, NumCPU, MemoryMB  but if I add DatastoreIdList as well it doesnt seem to work.  What am I missing

Many Thanks

Laurence

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

That is correct, you could do

Get-VM MyVM | Select Name,@{N="DS";E={[string]::join(',',($_.datastoreidlist|%{(Get-View -Id $_).Name}))}},Description | 
    Export-Csv "C:\test.csv" -NoTypeInformation -UseCulture

Just watch out if the separator for the CSV happens to be a comma in your culture, then you will probably have to adapt the separator in the Join method!

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

First check which properties are available in a VM object.

Do

Get-VM MyVM | Get-Member

The DatastoreIdList property is an array of datastore Id (duh).

You can expand such a complex property with the ExpandProperty parameter

Get-VM MyVM | Select -ExpandProperty DatastoreIdList

But that doesn't allow you to combine this complex property with other properties.

That's where calculated properties come in.

Get-VM MyVM | Select Name,@{N="DS";E={[string]::join(',',($_.datastoreidlist|%{$_}))}}

But you would probably want to see the names of these datastores.

Then you have to use the ID to fetch the datastore object

Get-VM MyVM | Select Name,@{N="DS";E={[string]::join(',',($_.datastoreidlist|%{(Get-View -Id $_).Name}))}}

That looks complex, but if you know how it was constructed it's quite easy

wardla
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Many thansk for your reply.