VMware Cloud Community
pc-tech
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

New-Folder and Wait-Task

Hello There,

I am new to VI Toolkit (and indeed to Powershell) but I have a portion of a script I am trying to build which I am totally stuck on the syntax for:

The script is as follows - it attempts to create a temporary virtual machine folder, performs a clone of a guest to the new folder (and more importantly, to a new datastore from the one it's on), then delete the guest (without "deletefromdisk" so the new datastore has a backup of the files) and then deletes the temporary virtual machine folder.

$sourceHost = "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx" # this is a VC, not an ESX server.

$vm2c = "yyyyyyyyyy"

$dataCenter="zzzzzz"

$destcln = $vm2c + "-clone"

$destdatastr = "aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa"

$foldername = "~bbbbbbbb"

$sourceVIServer = Connect-VIServer -Server "$sourceHost"

Get-Folder "vm" | New-Folder -Name $foldername

$FolderID = Get-Folder -Name $foldername

$targetfolder = get-view ($FolderID).ID

$destdsview = get-view (get-datastore -name $destdatastr).id

$VMCloneSpec = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualMachineCloneSpec

$VMCloneSpec.Location = New-Object VMware.Vim.VirtualMachineRelocateSpec

$vmclonespec.location.datastore = $destdsview.moref

$VMCloneSpec.powerOn = $false

$vmclonespec.template = $false

$clntask = (Get-View (Get-VM -Name $vm2c).ID).CloneVM_Task($targetfolder.MoRef, $destcln, $VMCloneSpec)

Wait-Task $clntask.value

Remove-VM (Get-VM -Name $destcln)

Remove-Folder -Name $foldername

The first issue I have is with New-Folder. I have worked out to create a folder which can contain guests, you need to do this under the "vm" folder. However in a vCenter, I have three individual datacenters, and it creates the folder under ALL of the datacenters, then the script barfs as the lookup for the folder using get-folder fails (as there are 3). Is there any way I can specify a specific datacenter to add my folder to?