VMware Cloud Community
dbutch1976
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Network customization using powerCLI

Hello all,

I'm brand new to scripting and I'm not sure why I seem to have to run these two commands separately:

get-vm "MYTESTVM" | Get-VMGuestNetworkInterface -Guestuser Administrator -GuestPassword MYPASSWORD |?{$_.name -eq "Local Area connection 4"} | set-vmguestnetworkinterface -Guestuser Administrator -GuestPassword MYPASSWORD -IPPolicy static -IP 10.244.186.113 -Netmask 255.255.255.0 -Gateway 10.244.186.1 -DNS 10.244.37.25,10.244.37.26

Get-NetworkAdapter "TEST-SVR01" | Set-NetworkAdapter -NetworkName VLAN186_QA -Confirm:$false

The code works if I run it line by line.  But it doesn't work if I try this:

get-vm "MYTESTVM" | Get-VMGuestNetworkInterface -Guestuser Administrator -GuestPassword MYPASSWORD |?{$_.name -eq "Local Area connection 4"} | set-vmguestnetworkinterface -Guestuser Administrator -GuestPassword MYPASSWORD -IPPolicy static -IP 10.244.186.113 -Netmask 255.255.255.0 -Gateway 10.244.186.1 -DNS 10.244.37.25,10.244.37.26 | Get-NetworkAdapter "TEST-SVR01" | Set-NetworkAdapter -NetworkName VLAN186_QA -Confirm:$false

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

The object that Set-VMGuestNetworkInterface places on the pipeline, is not an object that Get-NetworkAdapter expects on the pipeline.

The 1st cmdlet sends 1 or more VMGuestNetworkInterface objects.

The 2nd cmdlet expects a VM, Template or Related Object on the pipeline.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

The object that Set-VMGuestNetworkInterface places on the pipeline, is not an object that Get-NetworkAdapter expects on the pipeline.

The 1st cmdlet sends 1 or more VMGuestNetworkInterface objects.

The 2nd cmdlet expects a VM, Template or Related Object on the pipeline.

0 Kudos
dbutch1976