VMware Cloud Community
daggubatinagur1
Contributor
Contributor

Need to Create multiple Virtual machines using VMware power CLI . any one having scripts .

Hi There ,

I need to created multiple virtual machines at the same time . kindly share if any one having the exact and executable script . it will help full to reduce the time taking in production environment

Tags (1)
4 Replies
BostonTechGuy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I have a great script that leverages PowerCLI, OSCustomization, Templates and CSV files.  It was written with myself and LucD.  I can send them to you tomorrow if you wish. Thanks, BostonTechGuy

virtuallycool
Contributor
Contributor

Any chance of posting that script here?

0 Kudos
daggubatinagur1
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Please share the script .

0 Kudos
BostonTechGuy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Sure.  Got dragged into a number of projects.  Sorry for not posting.  I am not a professional coder/script writer.  I have lived in the Windows world of Administration far too long.  So alot of the code is direct and without comments.  I will give a quick break down of how to use it here.

Description:

This script was developed a number of years ago with huge assistance from LucD.  You may have seen it in other postings.  Its also geared towards Windows Servers.  I have not used in on Linux servers.  If you know what changes are needed to make it Linux friendly please feel free to update it and share with others.

The whole script works with CSV File, Powershell Loops, and OS CustomizationSpec.

FIRST: create a customization spec in vCenter to get the general options that will always be the same on every box completed.  Settings like Domain Access and such.  Dont worry about IPs and names.  We are going to modify those in real time with the script.