VMware Cloud Community
fourpixels
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Licenses

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to VMware and PowerCLI and I've been given a task for license reconciliation. So we have 8 vCenters and when I check the report, most of the licenses keys are being shown as well to the other vCenters (is it linked?). So my questions right now, is there any way to have it accurately or are there any column that I could add to check where are these licenses really associated with?

Please kindly bear with me, just doing these stuffs for just a month now. Please see below the script

$report = foreach($vc in $global:DefaultVIServers){

$licMgr = Get-View LicenseManager -Server $vc

$licAssignmentMgr = Get-View -Id $licMgr.LicenseAssignmentManager -Server $vc

$licAssignmentMgr.QueryAssignedLicenses($vc.InstanceUid) | %{

$_ | select @{N='vCenter';E={$vc.Name}},EntityDisplayName,

@{N='LicenseKey';E={$_.AssignedLIcense.LicenseKey}},

@{N='Product Version';E={$_.Properties | where{$_.Key -eq 'FileVersion'} | select -ExpandProperty Value}},

@{N='LicenseName';E={$_.AssignedLicense.Name}},

@{N='Product Edition';E={$_.Properties | where{$_.Key -eq 'ProductName'} | select -ExpandProperty Value}},

@{N='Used License';E={$_.Properties | where{$_.Key -eq 'EntityCost'} | select -ExpandProperty Value}},

@{N='Total';E={$_.AssignedLicense.Total}},

@{N='ExpirationDate';E={$_.AssignedLicense.Properties.where{$_.Key -eq 'expirationDate'}.Value }}

}}

$report | Export-Csv -NoTypeInformation -Path 'C:\temp\Lic_Info.csv' 

Thanks in advance!

Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Since we seem to have same conversation also going on via email, I will continue here.

As I stated in my last response:

"To make sure what is happening, I suggest using the Web Client to connect to some of these vCenters.

And then check if the same license is present in multiple vCenters.