VMware Cloud Community
snteran
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Learn proper commands, script to get a list of all VMHost and their assocated vm's.

I am new to powercli and have been using the discussion forum to help find information on learning more about our VM Datacenter and clusters.

currently I'm working on getting a report that will list Each VMHost and their associated VM's utilizing get-view:

$clusterName = “Prod_Cluster”

$vmHost = foreach($cluster in Get-Cluster -Name $clusterName){

(Get-VMhost $vmHost | Get-View).VM | Get-VIObjectByVIView

} | export-csv c:\reports\prodCluster.csv

Now this errors out and i'm not sure how best to troubleshoot to get my needed results.

Error states: Get-VMHost : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'Name'.

At the end of the day, i'd like to get a report that would show me a total CPU / Memory per cluster and then the breakout by Host of CPU / Memory.

Name             PowerState Num CPUs MemoryGB
----             ---------- -------- --------
Server1   PoweredOn  4    8.000
Server2PoweredOn  4    12.000
Server3PoweredOn  2   

If possible show subtotals per VMHost and then a grand total at the bottom.

Hoping to pull a report that will help us prepare a benchmark to determine an acceptable level of available resources before we look at adding some more host.

Thank you for any assistance and patience regarding my beginner questions as I learn.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sneddo
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

OK, so one thing to avoid here are reserved variables. The $host variable relates to your Powershell console host, so avoid it Smiley Happy

Secondly, you are not using your host variable in your loop. At the very least you should be doing (Get-View $vhost).VM | Get-VIObjectByVIView (note the replaced variable to avoid $host)