VMware Cloud Community
MrGallus23
Contributor
Contributor

Jenkins and Powercli scripts

Hi All,

Complete Newbie with Jenkins here but...

I'm trying to use Jenkins to run VM automation scripts but I can seem to get the Powercli module loaded so that i can connect to vcenter in the scripts.

When I load PowerShell interactively PowerCLI loads fine and I can exceute commands fine.

I've seen a few posts about environment variables and I've added the Path and PSModulePath variables to the global properties section in  the configure systems, but that doesnt change anything.

Also tried runnnig the Jenkins Windows service as my account but the results are always the same. As shown below...

connect-viserver : The term 'connect-viserver' is not recognized as the name

of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of

the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try

again.

and

import-module : The specified module 'VMware.PowerCLI' was not loaded because

no valid module file was found in any module directory.

At C:\Windows\TEMP\jenkins3243661025460378840.ps1:3 char:1

+ import-module VMware.PowerCLI

Any help would be appreciated here

Mike.

0 Kudos
13 Replies
jpsider
Expert
Expert

Jenkins is a pita because of the way the accounts and services are run. Where is the module installed? Is it in any of the folders named in $env:psmodulepath for the user account Jenkins runs under?

0 Kudos
MrGallus23
Contributor
Contributor

The module is installed in the normal location..C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules

When I run the Jenkins service under my account I still get the same issues but inetractively from the Powershell prompt PowerCli is fine.

Looking at the built tho it still says its running as System

Started by user admin

Running as SYSTEM

Building in workspace C:\Program Files (x86)\Jenkins\workspace\ps-test1