VMware Cloud Community
DanielCrider
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

How do you locate an object? spec.configVersion for ReconfigureDVPortgroup_Task

Hi! I am very new to Powershell and I am still learning the basics. I have some code that I put together by watching an action in Onyx. The code is designed to set a vDS port group named "Production" to block all traffic. Here is the code:

Get-vds | out-null

Get-dvportgroup | ForEach-Object {

If ($_.name -like "Production") {

$dvportgrpID = $_.id

$dvportgrpname = $_.name

$spec = New-Object VMware.Vim.DVPortgroupConfigSpec

$spec.configVersion = "5"

$spec.defaultPortConfig = New-Object VMware.Vim.VMwareDVSPortSetting

$spec.defaultPortConfig.blocked = New-Object VMware.Vim.BoolPolicy

$spec.defaultPortConfig.blocked.inherited = $false

$spec.defaultPortConfig.blocked.value = $true

$_this = Get-View -Id $dvportgrpID

$_this.ReconfigureDVPortgroup_Task($spec)

}

My problem is finding the value of $spec.configVersion. It seems to be an integer that is incrementing every time I use vSphere Client to block all traffic on the port group or each time I successfully run the script. If I can guess the right number and manually load it in the script the script works great. If I enter an incorrect value or leave it out the script fails. I know there is got to be a way to find $spec.configVersion. But right now I don't know even where to begin to look. Like I said, I am VERY new at this.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
9 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership

I suspect you could use the QueryDvsByUuid method to find the current verson number (which is a string btw) via the returned object, which is a DistributedVirtualSwitch.

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

0 Kudos
DanielCrider
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Can you give me more info. Remember. I am a total nebie at this. I tried:

$myvds = get-vds

$vdsview = get-view $myvds[1].uuid

$query = $vdsview.querydvsbyuuid

echo $vdsview -

gives nothing